51v1q88ab0l-_sx258_bo1204203200_

 

Thug Kitchen was recommended to me by my former library manager.When I picked it up I didn’t know what it was a vegan cooking book. Not that I have any problem with vegans, I just like meat. That being said I will eat a good vegetarian or vegan meal, if it has enough protein for me. The recipes in were pretty good. The pumpkin chili has become one of my favorites and a staple for me to cook.

I also did not know about the controversy around the authors of Thug Kitchen when I first got the book and if I had know I might not have picked it up. For those who don’t know Thug Kitchen is actually run by a young white couple somewhere in California. It’s a complicated issue and as someone who is not black I don’t feel comfortable diving into it but I will link some articles for those who would like to read more about it.

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – 22 of 30, finished on April 3.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – None.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – None.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge – None.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – None.
