51vz9o6kv6l-_aa300_

“Throwing out preclearance when it has worked and is continuing to work to stop discriminatory changes is like throwing away your umbrella in a rainstorm because you are not getting wet.”

I didn’t know much about Ruth Bader Ginsburg. I knew she is on the Supreme Court and I knew she fell asleep at the State of the Union and then later confessed to being “not 100% sober” during it. That was before I heard about the Notorious R.B.G. It started at as a tumblr page by Shana Knizhnik but quickly became something more, turing the Supreme Court justice into a cultural icon. And really, I can’t blame anyone, Ruth Bader Ginsburg is pretty cool. She went to college and law school in a time when most college women were assumed to be there for a M.R.S. degree, sued Rutgers and Columbia Law for gender based pay discrimination as and won, and was the first female tenured professor at Columbia Law. I think besides looking at the amazing career RBG’s had there’s a lot of good life lessons to emulate from her. Like her friendship with Antonin Scalia, it shows you can disagree with people but still get a long. I think that’s something we all forget sometime.

This was another audio book. It was only about six hours long so it wasn’t too bad. I still worry I’m going to zone out and miss parts of audio books but it hasn’t happened so far.

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – 20 of 30, finished on March 30.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – None.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – Read a Biography.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge – None.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – Read a New York Times Bestseller.
