41edjjkb2dl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Mansplaining is a real problem

I don’t know if it’s because I’m the youngest librarian at work, or maybe I look young or confused, but some patrons often feel the need to mansplain to me. I’m sure that somewhere deep in themselves, they mean well but it’s still insulting. I am highly trained and educated in my field and I’m well respected and liked by my coworkers. Solnit mentions an incident where at a party the host, upon hearing she had recently written a book, proceeded to talk up a book recently published about the same subject. While listening, Solnit tried to rack her brain as to what the other book could be, it wasn’t until her friend pointed out to the host, three times before he listened, that she realized that he was speaking about her book. He hadn’t even read it, he just saw the blerb about it in the New York Times. It never crossed his mind that they book he’d read, briefly, about could have been written by the women in front of him. Solnit also touches on other subject in other essays, but the one about mansplaining stuck with me the most. It’s an interesting book about subjects that don’t get talked about enough. It’s not a long book but it does make you think. I’m going to try to stand up for myself more in moments of mansplaining, it’s not easy all the time but I think I owe it to myself to do it. I know many girls like myself were raised to be modest and not contradict people, especially those older than us, but why did I put so much time into my education and learning if I allow people to speak to me like I don’t know what I am talking about?

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – 13 of 30, finished on March 8.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – A book you previously abandoned. I tried to read it last year but checked out too many books at once and was overwhelmed and never got past page 3. I’m planning my checkouts better this year.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge –Read a collection of essays.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge –Read A Book of Essays.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – None.
