71sxmbgcrul

Citizen first came to my attention after Johari Idusuyi read it at a Donald Trump rally.

It was also one of the books recommended on the #BustleReads Challenge so I had to check it out. Poetry is not my thing. I’m pretty sure the last time I read any was back in high school when we did our poetry block. Despite not being into poetry I did like Citizen. Rankine recounts a series of microagressions beginning with childhood. It’s more than that too, she writes about Trayvon Martin and Selena Williams. It’s a beautiful way to speak out about the issues that our society still have with race.

I probably won’t read another poetry book this year, but I’m glad that the one I did read was Citizen.

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – 10 of 30, finished on Feb 14.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – None.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – None.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge –Read A Contemporary Collection Of Poetry.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – A Book of Poetry.
