150709_sbr_coates-cover-crop-original-original

It took me a little to get my thoughts together about this book.

I’ve wanted to read this book since it seems to be everywhere. It’s a heavy book and so obviously personal to the author. It’s written as a letter to his teenage son. It has his life story, his beliefs and fears, and his anger. As someone who is not black, much of what he wrote about were thing I had never experienced but that’s why this book is so important. Because of the societal inequality in our country, I don’t have to worry about the same things Ta-Nehisi Coates and his son do and that’s messed up. When my little cousin took a fake gun through TSA security, the security guard laughed and took him for his word that it was fake, he never even checked. My cousin was twelve at the time, the same age Tamir Rice was when he was shot by police for playing with a fake gun. Books like this are important because we don’t live in a post-racial society and we need to stop pretending we do. We can’t anymore, not after Tamir Rice, not after Michael Brown or Sandra Bland.

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – 9 of 30, finished on Feb 11.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – A book you’ve been meaning to read.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – None.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge – None.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – A National Book Award winner.
