I have a strange love for reading challenges. I think they’re fun and an easy way to push myself to read something I might have not.

Last year I did the GoodReads Challenge. It’s simple, you pick a number of books to read and read them. You can pick any books, just meet your number goal. I picked 30 books and ended up reading 83. A lot of that 83 were graphic novels, and some people might say they don’t count, but they totally do. I decided to try more challenges this year to get out of my comfort zone.

  1. GoodReads Reading Challenge – I’m doing the GoodReads challenge again. I’ve set the challenge to the same number of books as last year, 30. This is mostly so I read, 30 books a year shouldn’t be that hard. It’s the lowest number I expect to read this year.
  2. Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge – I found out about this reading challenge from a co-worker. She had printed some of the printable versions of it out for our patrons to use. I picked on up myself. It has 12 things to check off and has some good challenge ideas on it.
  3. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – I run my library’s Google Plus page and BookRiot is awesome. I’ve found so many articles for my library’s page through them. They have interesting original content but also feature a links column that has been so useful. Their Read Harder Challenge has 24 sections and they have a useful printout with a place to write the book that checked off the section.
  4. #BustleReads Challenge – Bustle is another site I use for my library’s page. Their challenge got my attention by its tag line of encouraging you to read women and authors of color. And just from reading their recommendations I’ve added many books to my to-read list.
  5. POPSUGAR’s Ultimate Reading Challenge – This is probably the longest challenge I’m taking on this year but with categories like “A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy” I think it’s going to be fun to try.

So there are my challenges for 2016, I think it’s going to be a good year 🙂

